Sales & Transfers at H & H

Sales and transfers of firearms in CA can be confusing and are highly regulated. Whether it be a new sale or a private party transfer you will end up with a mountain of paperwork. There are many questions regarding the legality of certain firearms, the legal handgun roster and the configuration of AR (Armalite Rifle) style rifles or similar. CalGuns.net has developed an excellent set of flowcharts to help you determine the legality of your current or intended firearm. You will find those flow charts in the blue banner at the top of their forums page – while you are there sign up – they are a great resource!

Before you order a new handgun online or get crazy on Gunbroker – you must make sure that the gun you are buying is on the CA list of approved handguns (CA referes to the as “safe” handguns – all others being “unsafe” – don’t worry nobody gets it). Please note, this does NOT apply to C&R handguns – these being handguns 50 years or older. So don’t look for an approved 1943 Walther P38 or Mauser Red 9 Broom-handle on the list somehow these become safe when they turn 50. MAKE SURE any orders for semi auto handguns from out of state are in compliance – we will not receive a handgun that is not legal in CA and you will be responsible for any return shipping charges. Please call us first and we can help you!

Where can I buy guns? You have many options here are two common sources with some often overlooked cautions! Armslist is the “Craigslist” of firearms. Beware of Armslist scams – do not pay for anything until you are face-to-face at your transferring FFL – no matter how cool or rare the firearm is or how convincing the seller is – it is a SCAM if they ask you to pay in advance. Also do not meet anyone anywhere but at an FFL. Gunbroker – GB has “buy-it-now” and auction items. Read the small print – many sellers will NOT ship to CA under any circumstances – and yes feel free to be offended when sellers call CA a communist state…its a socialist state…. There are many stories of an auction being completed and payed for and the the seller will not ship to a CA FFL and that will cost YOU money.

One last piece of advice to avoid the SCAM artist – all firearms in CA must ship to a CA FFL unless you are a C&R class 3 FFL holder and the long gun qualifies as a C&R gun (then only C&R handguns must ship to an FFL). If someone offers to ship it directly to you – BOTH of you are in violation of the law.

We are a receiving FFL dealer for the following firearm and ammunition vendors:


(PLEASE CALL BEFORE YOU ORDER so we can make sure that your purchase is legal to deliver in CA)

Identification Requirement’s for Firearm Purchases in California

ID and other requirements to purchase a long gun in CA

Be a California Resident
Have a California Real ID (additional documentation required if you do not have a Real ID)
Have a current Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC)

If you don’t have an FSC or you cannot find it, we can administer the test again and reissue a new FSC Card – $25

ID and other requirements to purchase a handgun in CA

Be a California Resident
Have a California Real ID

(additional documentation required if you do not have a Real ID)
Have a current Firearm Safety Certificate (FSC)

Have proof of California Residency (Only one is required)
Valid DMV Disabled Placard

-Valid DMV Vehicle Registration

-Valid Concealed Carry Permit

-Valid Curio and Relic FFL

-Valid Resident Hunting License issued by Dept. of Fish and Wildlife

-Valid Fishing License issued by Dept. of Fish and Wildlife

-Utility Bill: Electricity,gas cable with purchasers name and address and must be current within the last 60 days

-Property Tax Bill (not tied to a trust)
-Lease Agreement

If the address on your ID doesn’t match we can accept in addition to your CA ID:

-Valid DMV Disabled Placard

-Valid DMV Registration

-Valid Concealed Carry Permit

-Valid Curio and Relic FFL

-Valid Resident Hunting License issued by Dept. of Fish and Wildlife

-Valid Fishing License issued by Dept. of Fish and Wildlife

If you do not have a Real California ID you need: California ID and only one additional proof of citizenship which can be:
     – Current Passport or Passport Card
     – Birth Certificate (certified not a photocopy)
     – Resident Alien Card

-Green Card

To see the full list of approved documentation go to
https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/dlrfaqs#15G

Private Part Transfer (PPT) Handgun

Transfering a handgun between two parties in CA can be confusing process. We are here to help!

Q: How does a handgun PPT change my one in 30 eligibility?
A: The one in 30 applies to new handgun purchases. You can do as many PPT’s as you want. The 10 day waiting period between DROS and pickup still applies.

Q: What about off roster handguns?
A: If the handgun is owned by a private party in CA it is legal for you to purchase the gun. The “roster” applies to dealer and new sales.

Q: Do I have to pay tax?
A: No PPT’s are not taxed. You will need to pay CA DROS and dealer transfer fees.

Required Documents for Handgun PPT

⁃ Current California ID with current address (Supplemental proof of citizenship needed if you don’t have a CA Real ID)
⁃ Firearm Safety Card 
⁃ Proof of Residency 

For appropriate documents please see the above section

Please see the Fee’s section for transfer and DROS Fees.

Private Party Transfer (PPT) Long Gun

Transferring a Long Gun between two private parties is not much different than doing a sale of a new gun. Both parties agree to a price and visit HHE to complete the transfer.

Q: Do I have to do DROS when I buy a long gun ppt?
A: YES the transfer must go through the DROS system

Q: Do I have a 10 day wait?
A: You will be waiting for 10 days unless you are a C&R /COE holder and the gun is a C&R rifle.

Q: Do I have to pay tax?
A: No PPT’s are not taxed. You will need to pay CA DROS and dealer transfer fees.

Required Documents for Long Gun PPT

⁃ Current California ID with current address (Supplemental proof of citizenship needed if you don’t have a CA Real ID)
⁃ Firearm Safety Card 

For appropriate documents please see the above section.

Please see the Fee’s section for transfer and DROS Fees.

New Purchase Handgun

We are happy to order you the new hand gun of your choice (CA Compliant of Course). You may only purchase 1 new handgun per 30 days in CA.

Required Documents for New Handgun Purchase

⁃ Current California ID with current address (Supplemental proof of citizenship needed if you don’t have a CA Real ID)
⁃ Firearm Safety Card 
⁃ Proof of Residency 

For appropriate documents please see the above section.

Please see the Fee’s section for transfer and DROS Fees.

New Purchase Long Gun

We are happy to order a new gun for you or we frequently have used historic guns for sale.

All new guns require DROS and there is a 10 day waiting period.

Required Documents for New Long Gun Purchase

⁃ Current California ID with current address (Supplemental proof of citizenship needed if you don’t have a CA Real ID)
⁃ Firearm Safety Card 

For appropriate documents please see the above section.

Please see the Fee’s section for transfer and DROS Fees.

Ammunition Purchases and Background Check

Ammo Background Check

What are the ID requirements? Drivers License, CA ID Card, Military ID. If your ID states “Federal Limits Apply” you will need an additional form of ID. See the bottom of this page for more information: Ammunition FAQ’s

The Quick $1 “Standard Check”

You are eligible for a “Standard Check” if you have:

Purchased a handgun (new or PPT) in CA since 1990
or
You have purchased a long gun (new or PPT) in CA since 2014
or
You have a CA Certificate of Eligibility (COE)
or
You have recorded ownership of a firearm you possess, but were not previously required to report, by submitting a Firearm Ownership Report through the California Firearms Reporting System (CFARS).

All of the information in the CA database much match name and address on your ID

Q: What if I have moved and my license and other ID reflects my new address?
A: Have you updated your firearm ownership information with  the CA DOJ? – Yes your OK if no – the basic check below applies. Your not going shooting any time soon bucko!

Q: How do I update a firearm record?
A: The Automated Firearms System Personal Information Update System (have a headache yet?). Here is the link AFSPIU

The “Standard Check” is instant and costs $1

2. The $19 “Basic Check”

You must do a “Basic Check” if you have not made a qualifying purchased of a firearm in CA or the current information in the “Automated Firearms System” does not match your current address and ID. This costs $19 and may take days to complete (yes that’s correct the state does not define a time frame).

Q: Is it quicker if I just buy a new gun or do a PPT and get my ammo after my 10 day DROS wait?
A: Yes you are right it is quicker.

Q: Can the ammo only be for the new gun purchase?
A: Nope – get as much and of any type of ammo as you would like.

Our Fees

CA DROS – One charge per total transaction 1-any number of guns – $37.19

New Sales
CA DROS Fee 37.19

Transfers:
CA DROS Fee 37.19 plus
PPT Handguns: $10 per gun
PPT Long Gun: $10 per gun

Receiving:
CA DROS Fee 37.19 plus
Handguns: $35 per gun $15 each additional gun ON THE SAME INVOICE
Long guns: $35 per gun $15 each additional gun ON THE SAME INVOICE